Does my PhD have to save the world?

The Thesis Whisperer

This post is by Hedda Ransan-Cooper who is currently a PhD Candidate, School of Sociology at the ANU. She doesn’t (yet) have a blog but you can find her on twitter: @hedda_r

Perhaps you’re one of those people who have always known exactly what you wanted to study. I suspect, though, a lot of researchers are like me: interested in many things at once.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis wasn’t a problem in my earlier academic years because I was surrounded by other interdisciplinary students and researchers who held similarly broad research interests. Plus, I deliberately chose a flexible degree type, which allowed me to explore a range of different ideas.

When it came to choosing a PhD topic, however, I realised that being interested in too many things could be problematic. How could I focus on a research problem when my interests were so different from one another?

So, without having yet read…

View original post 885 more words

Leave a Reply

